HP Powered School Publication

Monday
January 14, 2008

I have a headache all throughout this day. 😥

I was supposed to help my editor-in-chief in her purchase for our computer in The Adamson Chronicle but in time constraints, I had to leave her together with Sir Ian do the shopping.

We had a Logic Circuit and Switching Theory lab experiment that even my super-human circuit makers such as my group members couldn’t finish the job in one session.

I skipped my lunch break when EIC Jen texted me if I can do the PC setup in our office. I expect nothing but the best because our adviser is eyeing a single model and a brand, a latest Hewlett-Packard HP Pavilion desktop PC worth a measly 40,000 pesos at Electroworld, SM Manila.

I was surprised on how small the package was. Of course, I am still using my old Samsung SyncMaster 793DF CRT monitor and really has the bulk and weight issues.

I opened the CPU box first, and I was astonished. I haven’t had time to use branded PC’s simply because I still go for the PC Express type PC’s. It’s hard to own a branded one because as a computer engineer, I have no right to insert any part of my body inside the CPU case that will void my warranty. I cannot add or replace anything inside the CPU box; HP service centers are established to do that else, goodbye warranty.

It was an HP Pavilion a6252d Desktop PC:

I mounted the 19″ HP LCD monitor and voila…

Hardware
Base processor
Core 2 Duo E4500 (C) DC 2.2 GHz

* 800 MHz front side bus
* Socket 775

Chipset
Intel 945GC
Motherboard

* Manufacturer: ECS
* Motherboard Name: 945GCT-HM
* HP/Compaq motherboard name: Livermore8-GL6

Memory
Component Attributes
Memory Installed 1 GB (PROMO: Free Kingston 1024 MB DDR12, to make the memory 2 GB. 😉 )
Maximum allowed 2 GB (2 x 1 GB)
Speed supported PC2-5300 MB/sec
Type 240 pin, DDR2 SDRAM

Hard drive

* 160 GB SATA 3G (3.0 Gb/sec)
* 7200 rpm

16X DVD(+/-)R/RW 12X RAM (+/-)R DL LightScribe SATA drive

* Must use Double-Layer media discs in order to take advantage of the DL technology
* Must use LightScribe-enabled media discs and supporting software in order to take advantage of the LightScribe technology

Function Maximum speed
DVD-RAM Up to 12X
DVD-R DL Write Once Up to 8X
DVD+R DL Write Once Up to 8X
DVD+R Write Once Up to 16X
DVD+RW Rewritable Up to 8X
DVD-R Write Once Up to 16X
DVD-RW Rewritable Up to 6X
DVD ROM Read Up to 16X
CD-R Write Once Up to 40X
CD-RW Rewritable Up to 32X
CD-ROM Read Up to 40X

Modem
56K bps data/fax modem

Video Graphics
Integrated graphics

Sound/Audio
High Definition 6-channel audio

* ALC 888 chipset

Network (LAN)
Integrated 10/100 Base-T networking interface

Memory card reader

* Supports the following cards:
o Compact Flash I
o Compact Flash II
o IBM Microdrive
o Secure Digital (SD)
o mini-SD
o MultiMediaCard (MMC)
o Reduced size MultiMediaCard (RS-MMC)
o MultiMediaCard Plus (MMC plus)
o MultiMediaCard Mobile (MMC mobile)
o Memory Stick
o Memory Stick Pro
o Memory Stick Duo
o Memory Stick Pro Duo
o SmartMedia
o xD Picture Card (xD = extreme digital)

External I/O ports
I/O ports on the front panel
Port type Quantity
15-in-1 (4 slot) One
USB Two
Headphone One
Microphone One
Line-in One
I/O ports on the back panel
Port type Quantity
PS2 (keyboard, mouse) Two (one each)
VGA One
USB Four
LAN One
Audio (line in, line out, microphone) One Each


Expansion slots

Slot type Quantity
PCI Two (One available)
PCI Express x16 One (One available)
PCI Express x1 One (One available)

Drive bays
Bay type Quantity
5.25″ Two (One available)
3.5″ Two (One available)
Pocket Media Drive One (One available)
Keyboard and mouse

* HP multimedia keyboard
* HP PS/2 optical mouse

Software
NOTE: HP provides basic support for software that comes with the computer. For in-depth feature assistance, refer to the help section in the software or on the software vendor’s Web site.
Software titles that shipped with PC Software Category Software Title
Operating System

* Windows Vista Home Basic

CD/CD-RW/DVD/DVD+RW

* HP DVD Play 2.4
* Roxio Creator 9 Basic
* Roxio MyDVD 9 Basic

Entertainment, Music & Games

* Oberon Media Games

Imaging, Photography, Video & Film

* HP Photosmart Essential 2
* CyberLink PowerCinema 4.7
* Muvee autoProducer Basic

Productivity

* Adobe Reader
* Microsoft Works 8
* Microsoft Office Home and Student Edition 2007 Trial

Security

* Norton Internet Security 2007 (60-day security update subscription)

Support

* HP Hardware Diagnostic Tools
* Help & Support Center
* Online documentation

Recovery

* HP Recovery Manager
* Recovery Disc Creator

Internet Solutions

* Microsoft Internet Explorer
* Google toolbar
* ISP offers

I left the office for my Strength of Materials class. We just checked our lame quiz.

We also submitted our LCST lab experiment to our professor after my last class. I also asked Jessie to buy me some electronic circuit paraphernalia because I haven’t bought anything.

I returned once again to the Chronicle office to install a door hinge with lock on the front door to protect our initial property.

~ by Joshua Tadena on January 17, 2008.

2 Responses to “HP Powered School Publication”

  1. […] She was joined by our technical adviser Mam Arlene and fellow workmate Mikay, and they are trying to buy printers for our newly bought PC. […]

  2. […] I love this PC. Wish I have one like this. […]

Leave a Reply

 
