Going Crazy Over PCB

I was so happy that my Monday at school is officially over. Glad to know that I’m still breathing. πŸ˜†

I was pissed when I woke up today because I should have been up by 5:30 AM. I asked my Mom to do anything humanely possible to wake me up that time, but I extended my sleep up to 6 AM. I needed to go to school at the earliest time possible so that I will able to beat the 9 AM Logic and Circuit Switching Theory laboratory class for my take home practical exam. I was late the last meeting that it was announced and I was almost barred from taking that PCB making homework.

I created my very first PCB last Saturday at my classmate Richard’s home only a few meters away from us. I should have mastered the art of making that type of circuit board before, but due to money constraints, I don’t have courage to waste some hundreds of pesos on a failed project. I tried to make one together with Richard because he already perfected the art of making presynthesized PCB’s, plus he has also the complete tools that I need.

I failed on my first try because the EAGLE layout on my acetate has a very thin connecting wires, which resulted to series of broken connections after the ferric chloride phase. The good thing was I brought my USB flash drive and he updated my connections using thicker connections. The second try was a success and Richard’s multimeter tester responded well. After, I drilled holes with Richard’s drill (I told you, I have no tools. 😦 ) and soldered the IC holders, switches and the LED piece by piece and successfully completed the “creation” phase.

I arrived at school before 9 AM and I hurriedly tried to complete my truth table because I have no adaptor (and the fear of using mobile phone batteries which, maybe, can explode my LED or anything on the circuit board) and I needed to borrow it from my classmates. Some already used simulations using MultiSIM and I realized that I had one error on my results.

Our professor announced that all PCB’s shall be passed before 11 AM together with an envelope, the schematic diagram and PCB layout in EAGLE. I brought Arven to the office and rushed all the printing jobs we needed, but then, I was surprised, I forgot my USB flash drive. πŸ˜₯

We tried to copy the layout but the auto-router will obviously not copy the circuit etched in my PCB. But we really have no choice. πŸ˜₯

We already completed the projects several seconds before 11 AM and I was so tired, I immediately munched on my crackers and went directly to the cafeteria to eat my lunch.

The lecture of LCST was next and I have no idea on what I’m going to answer on the quiz about boolean algebra. God bless me.

My school day ended on a Strength of Materials rushed assignment and a hour and a half of lecture.

~ by Joshua Tadena on February 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
