SPORTS by Quinito Henson

Three weeks ago, I had a chance to meet-and-greet my favorite sportscaster/sportswriter of all time Mr. Joachin “Quinito” Henson.

It was special because our student publication flew from Manila to Bacolod just to attend the 5th Spectrum Fellowship: National Journalism Seminar 2008 at University of St. La Salle, Bacolod City. No one knew that only Mr. Henson made me very excited, and every time spent after that will just be a vacation for me. 🙂

Mr. Henson was one of the speakers on the first day of the seminar and he was really early. We had a chance to talk with him before we ate our breakfast.

One of the interesting points that he caught me (and I guess everyone else) was his personal meaning of SPORTS. He confessed the passion for sports runs through his veins and was just a frustrated athlete that’s why he ended up being a sportswriter. We have similar cause and effect on why I’m on the student publication even though I was trained to become a professional basketball player as early as three years old. As the saying goes, “you can’t teach height”.

S – SIMPLICITY
P – PURPOSE
O – OBJECTIVITY
R – PERSONANCE
T – TRUTH
S – SENSIBILITY

I was happy that he gave a very interesting lecture not primarily focused on sports writing, but on how to improve our journalistic sense as student writers. Surprisingly, even the non-sports aficionados were tuned in in his two hours continuous talk and even without a prepared powerpoint presentation. Ironically, a sports writer like him was voted as one of the highest ranked in the evaluation.

I remembered on my childhood days way back on 1997, I wanted to be a sportswriter. From the tender age of 10, I am clearly aware on how the basketball stats are computed. I already memorized the rosters of the current NBA team (with the help of NBA Live 1997 on my SEGA, it was Mitch Richmond on the cover donning a #2 Sacramento Kings jersey). I collected a local sports magazine Scoreboard from the time when Andy Seigle was drafted by Mobiline as it’s first pick while Nic Belasco was picked second for Sunkist at the PBA. I really don’t know how my aspirations went into the drain so quickly after high school, and the start of the grueling stages of college.

Our student publication gladly handed Mr. Henson a few copies of our recent issues after the talk, including our special UAAP issue.

*****

I have difficulty sleeping tonight, thanks to the Starbucks’ Mocha Frap grande i took at 10 PM.

Now, I’m officially back as a blogger. 🙂

~ by Joshua Tadena on October 12, 2008.

6 Responses to “SPORTS by Quinito Henson”

  1. Hi,

    I found your blog while searching for qualified writers to join my team. My goal for the team is to train them to be fit for various outsourcing jobs.

    Do you want to join my team? Let me know if you’re interested. I have a few projects coming up that are in need of writers.

  2. Sure. 😉

  3. Josh, this is jon ordonio. do you have quinito’s email address?

  4. Hi Jon! How’s life after PBA? Maybe you should get in touch with the Philippine Star since I have no personal contact with The Dean.

    http://philstar.com/

    Thanks! 🙂

  5. Пора переименовать блог, присвоив название связанное с доменами 🙂 может хватит про них?

  6. как говориться, Без пользы жить – безвременная смерть.

Leave a Reply

 
